Fadia Ahmad at the Rencontres d'Arles

Fadia Ahmad aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles
05 - July - 2022 06 - July - 2022
« Alani », Fadia Ahmad, 2016

Fadia Ahmad at the Rencontres d'Arles

Exhibition & « Beirut I Beyrouth » book signing
524 524 people viewed this event.

One-of-the-kind photographer whose talent has earned her many awards, Fadia Ahmad exhibits twenty photographs from her « Beirut I Beyrouth » series, as well as photographs taken just after the explosion of August 4, 2020, as part of the 53the 48th Toronto International Film Festival, edition of The Rencontres d'Arles, the world's leading photography festival.

Between discussions and debates with the public, Fadia Ahmad will present and sign copies of her book "Beirut I Beirut", published in 2019 by Norma.

Fadia Ahmad
Award-winning Lebanese photographer and filmmaker, Fadia Ahmad captures Africa, the Middle East and Asia through the lens of her camera. Born in Alicante, she returned to Lebanon after the civil war. Graduated from Saint Joseph's University with a BA in Cinematography and Film Production, she is known for her portrait and landscape series taken in Africa, the Middle East and Asia. Her website: https://www.fadiaahmad.com/

Photography exhibition « Beirut I Beyrouth »
Celebrating humanity in its diversity, Fadia Ahmad freezes on paper fragments of life and flashes of emotions, capturing stolen moments of poetry. Her latest series, « Beirut I Beyrouth », is a tribute to the urban environment, the complex demography and the nostalgic architecture of the Lebanese capital. Visitors will have the opportunity to discover the photographs of the series in Arles, as well as new ones taken just after the explosion of August 4, 2020, which can also be seen on this link: https://bit.ly/3ye5Cy7. These photographs are available for purchase.

« Beirut I Beyrouth », the book
Published in 2019 by Norma Editions, the monograph is dedicated to the Lebanese capital. Between photographs and texts, the book recounts the thoughts and journey of Fadia Ahmad. It explains how she got to understand her city and make it a part of her identity after years of exile. The book tackles Fadia's daily path through Beirut, walking 10,452 steps each day - a number which symbolises Lebanon's surface area -, immortalising the twists and turns of Beirut's streets through her camera.

The Rencontres d'Arles
Through more than forty exhibitions installed in various exceptional heritage sites in the city, the Rencontres d'Arles has contributed every summer since 1970 to the transmission of the world's photographic heritage and has become a melting pot of contemporary creation. During the 2019 edition, the festival welcomed 145,000 spectators.

From 05.30pm to 6.30pm

Le Capitole
14, Laurent Bonnement street
13200 — Arles
Standard rate:
Free

Additional Details

Subtitle - Exhibition & « Beirut I Beyrouth » book signing

Room name - Le Capitole

Address - 14, Laurent Bonnement street

City - Arles

Ticket sales link - https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfERGvZcn4CAD_N5Y4YUy9KVXOYN6YQCfNmZiZDhv6mRCIWQA/viewform?usp=sf_link

Regular rate - Free

Photo caption cover - « Alani », Fadia Ahmad, 2016

To register for this event email your details to contact@glob.art

Register using webmail: Gmail / AOL / Yahoo / Outlook

Fadia Ahmad aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles

Fadia Ahmad aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles
05 - juillet - 2022 06 - juillet - 2022
« Alani », Fadia Ahmad, 2016

Fadia Ahmad aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles

Exposition photo & signature de son livre « Beirut I Beyrouth »
713 713 visiteurs ont vu cet évènement.

Photographe d’exception et dont le talent lui a valu de nombreux prix, Fadia Ahmad expose une vingtaine de ses œuvres de la série « Beirut I Beyrouth » ainsi que des photographies prises juste après l’explosion du 4 août 2020, dans le cadre de la 53e édition des Rencontres d’Arles, le premier festival de photographie de renommée mondiale.

Entre discussions et échanges avec le public, Fadia Ahmad présentera et dédicacera les exemplaires de son livre « Beirut I Beyrouth », publié en 2019 aux éditions Norma.

Fadia Ahmad
Photographe et réalisatrice libanaise primée, Fadia Ahmad capture au travers de son objectif l’Afrique, le Moyen-Orient et l’Asie. Née à Alicante, elle retourne au Liban au lendemain de la guerre civile. Diplômée de l’Université de Saint Joseph avec un BA en cinématographie et production cinématographique, elle est connue pour ses séries de portraits et de paysages en Afrique, au Moyen-Orient et en Asie. Son site : https://www.fadiaahmad.com/

Exposition photographique « Beirut I Beyrouth »
Célébrant l’humanité dans sa diversité, Fadia Ahmad fige sur le papier les fragments de vie et la fulgurance des émotions, offrant au regard des instants volés de poésie. Sa dernière série « Beirut I Beyrouth » est un hommage à l’environnement urbain, à la démographie complexe et à l’architecture nostalgique de la capitale libanaise. Les visiteurs auront le loisir de découvrir les photographies de la série à Arles, ainsi que de nouvelles prises justes après l’explosion du 4 août 2020, également visibles sur ce lien : https://bit.ly/3ye5Cy7. Ces œuvres sont disponibles à l’achat.

Ouvrage « Beirut I Beyrouth »
Publiée en 2019 aux éditions Norma, la monographie est dédiée à la capitale libanaise. Entre photographies et textes, le livre raconte les pensées, les réflexions et le cheminement de Fadia Ahmad. Il donne à voir le travail de réappropriation qu’elle mène dans sa ville, après des années d’exil. L’ouvrage explique le parcours quotidien de Fadia dans Beyrouth, qui effectue chaque jour 10 452 pas – nombre symbolique qui rappelle la superficie totale du Liban – dont elle immortalise les tours et les détours avec son appareil photo.

Les Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles
À travers plus de quarante expositions installées dans divers lieux patrimoniaux exceptionnels de la ville, les Rencontres d’Arles contribuent chaque été depuis 1970 à transmettre le patrimoine photographique mondial et se font le creuset de la création contemporaine. Lors de l’édition de 2019, le festival a accueilli 145 000 spectateurs.

De 17:30 à 18:30

Le Capitole
14 rue Laurent Bonnement
13200 — Arles
Tarif régulier :
Gratuit

Détails supplémentaires

Sous Titre - Exposition photo & signature de son livre « Beirut I Beyrouth »

Nom de la salle - Le Capitole

Adresse - 14 rue Laurent Bonnement

Ville - Arles

Lien vente billets - https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfERGvZcn4CAD_N5Y4YUy9KVXOYN6YQCfNmZiZDhv6mRCIWQA/viewform?usp=sf_link

Tarif régulier - Gratuit

Couverture Photo legende - « Alani », Fadia Ahmad, 2016

Pour vous inscrire à cet évènement, envoyez vos informations par e-mail à contact@glob.art .

S’inscrire en utilisant une messagerie en ligne : Gmail / AOL / Yahoo / Perspectives